Learning Japanese

Japanese for Busy People I: Kana Version includes CD (Japanese for Busy People Series)

So I’m interested in learning Japanese. The above book comes recommended from one of my contacts as a best of type book for learning. This particular version is the Kana version, meaning it will not be Romanized or Western text.

Also recommended is of course finding a local school. I’m interested in doing both actually.

If you have other recommendations, do leave them in the comments or contact me directly.

Interested in tutoring an adult? Live in Missouri? Drop me a line.

Finally, if you have some books in Japanese, and you care to part with them, be sure to think of me.

Your future reader of Japanese,
Todd

Update: Another resource, The Japanese Grammar Database. Many thanks to @eladyland on Twitter

5 Responses to “Learning Japanese”


  1. 1 Stephen January 23, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    Two excellent podcasts: http://www.japancast.net/ will help you learn useful Japanese phrases, and those wonderful folks pointed me to Asian Access, a podcast of stories from Japanese missionaries. You can subscribe via iTunes or download their podcast, although it’s only in m4a, so I won’t be able to listen on the go. 😥

  2. 2 Stephen January 23, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    Also http://alljapaneseallthetime.com (I’m going to be using his approach). He has a method that’s not necessarily ‘easy’ (there is no ‘easy’ way to learn Japanese!), but it’s systematic and it just makes sense to me.

  3. 3 Hooeyspewer January 23, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    Sounds like you REALLY want to learn Japanese – as opposed to learning enough to get by as a tourist for a couple of weeks.

    I found that for the short stay, I did well with the Pimsleur Japanese Audio CDs – I checked them out of our library. It was really all I needed to navigate Tokyo & Kyoto, dine and shop happily for a couple of weeks. Thought their approach was really simple as well. Wish you much luck.

  4. 4 tojosan January 24, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Thanks folks for the support. It sounds like an interesting journey to take up.

  5. 5 Isabella Kuijers September 25, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    japanese for busy people is great and i’ve humbled myself and am trying the audio books too…


Leave a Reply

