Self Hosting?

So I’ve been getting good feedback, and in summary,  “SELF HOST YOUR BLOG!”So there it is for you.  I’ve been using tojosan.com to point to my blogger.com blog, and that’s worked well.  However, lots of folks pushed for me to go to WordPress.  Well, I took the plunge and went with a WordPress.com hosted blog, this one of course.  I’ve got a couple of other blogs hosted, but this is going to be the one I focus on primarily. What I really need is great feedback on where to host.  I’m not technically challenged, so having a reliable host is more important than one with one step install. Will you follow me there? And to what host?  And do I have to get the most expensive?Many thanks in advance, and leave lots of advice or DM me on Twitter, @tojosan, or drop me a gmail. 

2 Responses to “Self Hosting?”


  1. 1 Cynthia Armistead January 23, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    I started using LiveJournal to blog years ago, but was soon getting frustrated with not having full control. I tried embedding that in my technomom.com site, but it just wasn’t right.

    Our family’s sites had been hosted by a marvelous friend for several years, for free or darn near. As we developed more sites, we decided we’d best go with a professional host to avoid taking advantage of Jay. We compared quite a few different hosts, talked to lots of people, and chose 1&1 for the reputation, price and features. They certainly were NOT the most expensive!

    They’ve been very reliable. We didn’t care for fancy control panels and the like—if that’s what you want, 1&1 isn’t your best choice. Their staffers aren’t astonishingly personable, but their support people do seem to know what they’re doing most of the time. We’ve only got one real complaint: they haven’t upgraded the latest version of php yet. I keep meaning to call them about it, but haven’t, so obviously it isn’t that big an issue.

    WordPress is very, very simple to install and configure on your own. I’d never run any CMS before trying it last year, and had absolutely no problems with it. We have an installation on a subdomain that we use for testing new themes and plugins. I prefer doing it that way, but then I have a QA background 🙂

    I’d be more than happy to help you get WP up and running on whatever host you choose, if you do decide to self-host.

  2. 2 Courtney Watson January 23, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    Hmmm… well you could host with Kyvon, where I work! Would be lovely.

    Check out http://www.kyvon.com for pricing/packages, and let me know if you have any questions at all.


Leave a Reply

