Social Media and visiting Austin

Spring break looms ahead and with it the opportunity for vacation.  For my wife and I, this will be our first opportunity for a real vacation without a kid along.  So where are we choosing to go?  It seems this time it’s Austin, Texas.

And honestly as to why? A memorial perhaps? Or relatives? Maybe a famous museum or amusement park? NO!  It’s all about social media hookups.

My wife and I have gotten to know a special lady via Flickr, one of our favorite social media sites.  Simis  hooked up with us there about a year ago. It started with sharing pictures, and just a casual visit to each other’s stream, but not long after, we became support buddies for the 365 days project. Over the course of that year, we became much better friends.  This happened at first through sharing pictures, with them being more personal as time went on. It then evolved in to one on one chatting and email exchanges.  Now we are up to greeting cards and exchanging things.

So off to Austin we are planning to go, but lo and behold, I’ve acquired other social media friends there. Not only will we be visiting with Simis, but I think we’ll have more folks to schmooze with than on any vacation we’ve had in the past.

I’m stoked!  In the spirit of that, I’m asking folks to pile on and let me know if they’ll be available during the time from March 22nd through about March 28. Those of you on Twitter and Utterz know how to drop me a line, so please do.  For the rest of you folks, if you’re in Austin, sign your name, drop me an email, or find me on Twitter, @tojosan, and leave me a DM.Hats off to Austin!

4 Responses to “Social Media and visiting Austin”


  1. 1 Connie Reece January 23, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    You’ll love Austin! I look forward to connecting with you while you’re here.

  2. 2 Mike Neumann January 24, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    Looking forward to welcoming you and your bride to our fair, and sometimes weird, city. 🙂 — @mikeneumann

  3. 4 Mike Jorgensen February 3, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    Also, you should give http://www.tripit.com/ a try.


Leave a Reply

