That’s me in the corner, choosing my domain name…

Okay, it’s not that dramatic, but yeah, I’m looking for a new domain name before I move to host the blog off WordPress. Since I’m no genius in this area, I figure it’s time to solicit help from my friends online.

Yes, that’s right, I’m calling on you for advice. Yeah, that lady with the sexy twitter voice, and you, the guy with the out there avatar, and of course, those with pink boas.

What do you need to do to help? Just answer a few questions for me. Heck, I’m even going to be flexible about how you can answer, since I’m a online sort of guy.

First the questions, and boy are they easy…

1) Domain name – funny or serious?

2) Go with .com? .net? .org? or .name?

3) Favorite ice cream flavor

4) Is it okay to talk about sex on my blog?

Please answer any, all or only one, but I’d really appreciate the feedback. You can answer in the comments, drop me a tweet @tojosan, call me and leave a message at 636-486-4723, or email me tojosan – gmail.com.

There’s free ice cream for the first best response. 😉

Yours,

Todd

People frame the oddest things

15 Responses to “That’s me in the corner, choosing my domain name…”


  1. 1 valerie January 30, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    1. Serious but not dry (like blogging tips) or funny, if you can be funny in under 15-20 characters 🙂

    2. com, net, or org – not name. Name and others like ws and us can be flagged as spammy before given a chance.

    3. Strawberry Cheesecake!!!

    4. Your site, talk about whatever you want 😀

  2. 2 valerie January 30, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    Oh but most important, make sure you LIKE it. Too many times I’ve bought a name I wasn’t sure I liked only to have wasted my money a few weeks or months down the road when I decided for something else instead.

  3. 3 Annie Boccio January 30, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    1. funny or serious- most important is simple. Make it as easy to remember as possible.

    2. .com or .net – others are becoming more common but if you want to use the domain for email valerie is right- stick with what the servers understand. Not .org, IMO that should be for non-profits (not that MO matters for much!)

    3. chocolate with peanut butter swirls

    4. why not?

  4. 4 Goldie Katsu January 30, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    1) One that you would be happy with as your identifier that is easy to remember & type. (So probably not timeflieslikeabanana.org but that one is available 🙂 )

    2) .com would be my first choice, .org would be my next choice.net third (but only by a slim margin) The only other I’d really consider is .tv and then only if you were doing a lot of video but otherwise keep with the main one.

    3) Chocolate almond fudge, or home made coffee ice cream.

    4) That one is your call – whatever you feel comfortable with.

    5) http://nameboy.com is a cool site for getting domain names and if you have some words you think you want in your name it has all sorts of creative options it will check for – the expected and then also synonyms and rhymes and all sorts of stuff.

  5. 5 Ike January 30, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Don’t shy away from .name — I’ve never been flagged (although I run into the occasional web-app too ill-programmed to recognize it as legit).

    Most of all, make it memorable and hard to misspell. (I’d never monetize OccamsRazR for that reason, among others…)

  6. 6 Tracy Lee January 30, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    1. I like names that make on think, but domain names shouldn’t make you think to hard. I would say, go for clever. Clever is best.

    2. .com or .net I wouldn’t use .org for a personal site. I guess that is the purist in me.

    3. Moose Tracks

    4. If that is what interests you and you feel you have something to say about it, go for it.

  7. 7 TroyTurner January 30, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    1) I like Valerie’s response to this question. With the caveat that the title should reflect the feel & mood & content of blog.

    2) Yeah, I’d say go with .com, .net, or .org if possible.

    3) Rocky Road, or something with peanut butter…

    4) My strictly personal preference is the IF you feel you must talk about sex on your blog, that it be done in a mature, not crude manner.

  8. 8 karrielyne January 30, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    1) Well for this I guess it would depend on the feel of the blog. Do you want it to be funny or serious? Both? Just create something unique and easy to remember =)

    2) .com because its most common

    3) Mint Chocolate Chip with out a doubt

    4) Is it ever not ok to talk about sex? lol…Its your blog so you should talk about what ever floats your boat 😉 Your blog should be for you, not someone else!

  9. 9 Paisano January 30, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Great idea to come to us for this!
    I asked didn’t have much luck on utterz when I tried to come up with a name for my blog because everyone had their own opinion and all made valid points! Some liked Pai-Hole, some liked Pai in Yo face and others like Pai-Tech…so I am stuck on Paisano as my blog’s name.

    Ok, here are my answers:

    1) Domain name – funny or serious?
    Neither. I like something descriptive or personal like chrisbrogan.com.

    2) Go with .com? .net? .org? or .name?
    I prefer .com

    3) Favorite ice cream flavor
    Hagaan Dasz Chocolate Peanut Butter!

    4) Is it okay to talk about sex on my blog?
    Of course! But we all know talk is cheap and nuthin’ beats action! Woo hoo!

    pai

  10. 10 Randy January 30, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    1) I think you have to drink first to come up with a good domain name – I prefer humorous ones, but not silly.
    2) .com or .net for sure
    3)Chocolate Chip mint or Ben and Jerry’s Cherry Garcia.
    4)Sex sells, but you gotta realize who will be buying it….

  11. 11 Cynthia Armistead January 31, 2008 at 12:25 am

    1) Depends on the focus of the site. I like clever funny more than slapstick funny, but simple and short are the really important issues.

    2) If you aren’t going to use it for business, I’d use a .org. I prefer to get the .com, .org, and .net variations of a name whenever possible, though, and point them all to the same place. I seriously wish I’d done that with my main domain when I first registered it in 1996!

    3) Ben & Jerry’s New York Super Fudge Chunk!

    4) I think people should talk about whatever they please on their own sites. Personally, I wouldn’t get too racy on a blog that’s associated with my real name or technomom in any way, just because I know what kinds of searches potential employers do (and some are prudes).

  12. 12 Fricka January 31, 2008 at 1:58 am

    1) Domain name – funny or serious?
    I like the idea of being memorable, funny or serious.

    2) Go with .com? .net? .org? or .name?
    .com if you can, .net and .org as the other options.

    3) Favorite ice cream flavor
    All of them! Except “Garlic” and “Peanut Butter and Jelly”, those were a little too close to what they really are to me.

    If you twist my arm I can narrow “all” down to: Chocolate (any variation), Pistachio and/or Cherry Garcia.

    4) Is it okay to talk about sex on my blog?

    Up to you, but I would be careful in terms the longevity of the web and what Cynthia said.

  13. 13 Hooeyspewer January 31, 2008 at 9:14 am

    1) Domain name – funny or serious?

    I vote only for memorable and short.

    2) Go with .com? .net? .org? or .name?

    IMO, only .com or .net. Non-profits should be .org (though not always the case, obviously) and .name can be viewed as spam-related by some.

    3) Favorite ice cream flavor

    Pistachio Almond Fudge

    4) Is it okay to talk about sex on my blog?

    It’s your blog – you get to talk about whatever you want and it’s okay. As a reader, I wouldn’t be offended in the least if you did. As long as you don’t mind that being out on the Internet with your name on it, it’s fine.

  14. 14 tojosan January 31, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Thanks a bundle for all of the feedback. Your honesty and sense of fun are both appreciated.
    And so many of you, warms my heart.

    Hmm, cute name comes to mind, ChocoTech. LOL.

  15. 15 tojosan January 31, 2008 at 10:00 am

    Based on the recommendations: .com
    Name – short, witty, safe
    Ice cream – chocolate something
    Sex – only if I won’t be embarrassed by it later

    Awesome feedback.


Leave a Reply

