Social Media Club St. Louis – 1st Meeting – Round Up

I walked in to Kaldi’s in Kirkwood and immediately found the group of clubbies. They were right inside the door and already chatting. Tables had been rounded up, chairs brought around and folks where already exchanging emails and blog links. My kind of people.

Soon a group of five turned to ten and then over a dozen were on hand. Relocating was not an option. As an aside, you could tell the regular coffee drinkers; they were quick to visit the counter and get seated back with their steaming cups.

Everyone there was involved in blogging in some way. I’ve linked there here, courtesy of Brandstorming. Note that only one blog link is provided for each person, though several of us have more than one blog.

Jim Durbin: Brandstorming.com
Franki Durbin: Life In A Venti Cup
Tanner Hobin: TannerHobin
Andrew Nagy: Andrewnagy.net
Kurt Greenbaum – stltoday.com/vstl
Kristen Munson – socialmediamom.com
Justin Schmidt – justinspeak.com
Lisa Young – jedimom.net
Melody Cissell – news-bitch.com
Reem Abeidoh – www.reemabeidoh.com
Don Krutewicz – donkrutewicz
Angeline Soon – twitter.com/s00nami
Ryan Suther
Howard McAuliffe- StlDevelops.com

A couple of these folks are becoming more than just acquaintances by now, but there rest were all new faces to me. Unfamiliar faces didn’t put a damper on the conversation though. It was nonstop talking from minute one and out to the cars. We did the typical go around the room bit, but that is not to discount it as of no value. Introducing ourselves really lead to more conversations and connections, and talks of investing in each other.

I mentioned in a post earlier today that I wasn’t sure what my take away for new contacts would be, but let me assure you, this group was all worthy of my attention. Each brought a different perspective and attitude to the table. (tables – 8 of them) It will be difficult to pass up adding all of these new faces and inputs to my daily feeds.

I don’t have my pictures up yet, but when I do, they’ll be at my Flickr account and tagged with smcstl.

Please check out the blogs above and give them some love. Also, let us know about your local social media club meetups.

Yours,

Todd

6 Responses to “Social Media Club St. Louis – 1st Meeting – Round Up”


  1. 1 Patrick D. February 25, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    I wanted to make and regret not getting there. Had a kid with strep who was just unhappy. I will try and make the next thing as I’d like to reach out to local bloggers.

  2. 2 tojosan February 25, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    Patrick,

    Thanks for stopping by. It was a good turn out and it’s unfortunate you were unable to join in. I’ll do my best to make sure you know about the next one.


  1. 1 STL Social Media Guy » Blog Archive » Social Media Club of St. Louis kicks off this weekend Trackback on February 24, 2008 at 8:11 pm
  2. 2 STLtoday.com - Virtual St. Louis - Blog Archive - Efforts to organize the STL blogging community Trackback on February 25, 2008 at 7:45 am
  3. 3 St. Louis and Social Media « The Broad Brush Trackback on March 7, 2008 at 12:21 pm
  4. 4 St. Louis and Social Media | St. Louis Pro Bloggers Trackback on March 7, 2008 at 1:40 pm

Leave a Reply

