Austin Tweetup – Live with Tojosan

Austin made me feel welcome in more ways than one.  Heck, they even named a store after my son, Randall’s.  Throughout the week folks were courteous and welcoming.

That and they kept apologizing for the weather.  Yes, when it’s below 70 something or the least bit clowdy, they think the weather is bad.  Heck, it was flooding in our neck of the woods when we left and cold too boot.

Austin brought Nanna J and I opportunities for dining experiences, cultural discoveries, and making new friends.  Simis, a photographer friend,  hosted us for the entire week. My favorite shot of her.

Serious Shooter

During our visit were were able to not just meet with Simis, but with several other contacts of mine from Twitter. We had lunch out with @Orchid8.

Sharing thoughts over lunch

We had breakfast with @mikeneumann:

s5006044.jpg

Dinner with Simis:

dscn1363.jpg

And then a whole dang tweetup hosted by Kim Haynes.

Tweetups Rock!

Several folks turned out for the meetup and made us feel quite welcome. We didn’t just talk about Twitter either. No, we talked about blogging, social media, photography, and social networking. But beyond that, we had opportunity to talk about each other, Austin, and food. You know that last one is dear to my heart. Ha.

As you can see, just meeting folks was a busy week. I’ll have to do another post about the cultural stuff I guess. Expect a post just about the food as well.

For a visual recap of our week in Austin be sure to check out Flickr. I’ll be adding more pics to that set over the next several days.

In summary, the trip to Austin brought me closer to folks in my network than just being virtual friends.  We talked, we laughed, and we broke bread together.  Those are the makings of a lasting friendship.  Heck, in all the excitement, I made some new friends too and so did our friend Simis.

What are you doing with your next vacation? Seeing the Grand Canyon, or closing the loop with friends? Can you manage both like in our Austin trip?

4 Responses to “Austin Tweetup – Live with Tojosan”


  1. 1 Connie Reece March 29, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    It was great getting to meet you and Nanna J, and I’m so glad you enjoyed your time in Austin. Loved seeing your photos — especially that one of Kim sticking her tongue out. She’s a character, and you captured it!

  2. 2 tojosan March 29, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Thanks Connie! You were top on my list of folks to meet at any time, and so having you there was a bonus. 🙂

    Let’s keep networking!

  3. 3 Kim Haynes March 30, 2008 at 7:42 am

    It was such a pleasure to finally meet you in person and bringing Nana J and Simis along was certainly a bonus. I love our Tweetups and I guess I shouldn’t be so amazed at the conversations that ensue, but I am every single time. We’re a talktive bunch on or off a keyboard! So happy the weather was nice for your visit too because Austin is at its best outside.

  4. 4 tojosan March 30, 2008 at 8:07 am

    Kim,

    Thanks for the follow up! You are an absolute hoot in person. Your sense of humor and get involved attitude really makes things like this happen.

    I can’t wait to return and visit with everyone again. My wife feels the same. We really hated to head home.


Leave a Reply

